Latest News

Writers Studio and the ACC Foundation are proud to announce the winners of the Fall 2014 Writers Studio Student Scholarship: Kimberly J. MacDonald and Grace Frances Marie Wagner.

Please visit the Writers Studio Student Scholarship webpage for additional information - including bios and sample work - about the Fall 2014 winners.

ACC Biology Professor Terry Harrison conducted his annual shark dissection with blind/vision-impaired students at the Colorado Center for the Blind on Friday morning, Nov. 14.  Later that evening, students from ACC Painting Instructor Nathan Abels’ class invited staff and students from the CCB to a fully-accessible tactile art exhibit at ACC’s Jantzen Gallery.

General Motors Corporation (GMC) has donated a 2013 Sierra pickup truck to the Arapahoe Community College Automotive Technology Program.

Sophie Mabry and Diane Hegeman

ACC Human Performance / Exercise Sciences Program Coordinator / Professor Sophie Mabry (pictured left) was appointed to the Colorado Governor's Council for Active and Healthy Lifestyles on Oct. 29, 2014.  ACC Vice President for Instruction Diane Hegeman, Ph.D., is pictured on the right.

Arapahoe Community College Police Officer Prem V. Menon was presented with the inaugural ACC Police Department Humanitarian Award by Police Chief Joseph Morris on Thursday morning, Oct. 30, in the Waring Theatre.

"Launchpad" Entrepreneurship CertificateThe CU Denver Business School’s Jake Jabs Center for Entrepreneurship is collaborating with ACC on a new Entrepreneurship Certificate called “Launchpad”.

White Box ChallengeStudents from Arapahoe Community College's ASID (American Society of Interior Designers) Student Chapter were honored with The People’s Choice Award and Second Place for the overall competition at the ASID's annual White Box Challenge at

Arapahoe Community College's Child Development Center has been awarded NAEYC accreditation (National Association for the Education of Young Children) by the NAEYC Academy for Early Childhood Program Accreditation through Nov. 1, 2019.

NAEYC administers the largest and most widely recognized accreditation system for all types of early childhood programs and childcare centers.  NAEYC is the nation’s largest organization of early childhood educators.

Chevrolet has donated a 2014 Corvette Stingray to the Arapahoe Community College Automotive Technology Program.

“We would like to extend our gratitude to Chevrolet for this donation,” said Jerry Viola, Director of Automotive Technology at ACC.  “We appreciate the continued generosity of Chevrolet, and this Corvette Stingray will be a great asset for students in our GM ASEP program (General Motors Automotive Service Educational Program).”

Arapahoe Community College Interior Design students Amy Ash and Jan Satterfield have both earned national recognition in the 2013-14 National Kitchen & Bath Association (NKBA) Student Design Competition.

Arapahoe Community College has been selected as one of 12 nationwide Plus 50 Champion Colleges by the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC).

ACC was selected for its continued involvement to promote the Plus 50 Encore Completion Program, a collaborative initiative involving 100 colleges designed to help 10,000 baby boomers get job training and earn certificates or degrees in healthcare, education or social services.

For the 2014-15 scholarship year, the Foundation has offered over $180,000 in scholarships to close to 100 recipients. This is the highest dollar amount offered and the highest recipient amount on record. New, returning, and transfer students are encouraged to apply for ACC scholarship each year. Scholarships applications are reviewed by representatives from the ACC foundation. The qualifications and criteria  for scholarships vary based on the award.

As one example, the ACC Foundation Board of Directors Scholarship requires applicants to: