Arapahoe Pinnacle honored by SPJ

LITTLETON, CO (April 24, 2018)

Arapahoe Pinnacle staffThe Society of Professional Journalists has selected The Arapahoe Pinnacle as the winner of its “Mark of Excellence - Best Independent Online Student Publication” award in Region 9 for 2017.

SPJ’s Mark of Excellence awards recognize the best in collegiate journalism.  Region 9 is comprised of institutions in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

Additionally, three student writers from The Arapahoe Pinnacle were named as individual finalists, including advice columnist Scott Bright (Online Feature Reporting), political reporter Vicki Johnson (Online Opinion & Commentary) and Editor-in-Chief Bryden Smith (Online Feature Reporting).

Founded in October 2015, The Arapahoe Pinnacle is the online student publication of ACC.  ACC English Faculty Jamey Trotter, who coordinates ACC’s Journalism & Contemporary Journalism program, is the faculty advisor for The Arapahoe Pinnacle.  Trotter was named Journalism Educator of the Year by the Colorado Pro Chapter of the SPJ earlier this spring.