ACC, CCCS institutions authorized to offer BAS degrees

LITTLETON, Colo. (June 13, 2014) - Governor John Hickenlooper signed legislation – Senate Bill 14-004 – on Feb. 27, 2014, authorizing Colorado’s community colleges to offer four-year bachelor of applied science (BAS) degrees in a wide array of career and technical fields.

Senate Bill 14-004, which was initiated by the Colorado Community College System (CCCS) and sponsored by Senator Nancy Todd, Representative Jim Wilson and Representative Jenise May, was approved by the State Senate and the State House of Representatives, and supported by both the Colorado Department of Higher Education and the Colorado Commission on Higher Education.

“The approval of Senate Bill 14-004 allows us to fulfill workforce needs in a variety of specialized fields,” said Diane Hegeman, Ph.D., Vice President of Instruction at Arapahoe Community College.  “Many students will now be able to stay in their local communities to complete their degrees.”

This legislation was initiated by the CCCS to address the gap in Colorado higher education whereby students pursuing career and technical studies may not otherwise have access to a four-year degree in their field.  Even more, affordable tuition rates at community colleges pave the way for students to realize a higher education opportunity without incurring significant debt.  The business community benefits from Senate Bill 14-004, as well, via the increased quantity of well-qualified/educated job applicants.

“We will continue exploring workforce needs in our region in conjunction with ACC’s current program strengths in order to best determine how ACC moves forward with its BAS offerings,” stated Matt McKeever, Dean of Community and Workforce Partnerships at ACC.