Training Opportunities (Students & Faculty)

Upcoming Workshops and Webinars (Students)

The workshops are hands-on sessions and will be offered in the eLearning Department (Room M1710). You can enjoy the webinars (online presentations) from the comfort of your home. If you are attending a webinar, click on the “Join Meeting” link on the scheduled date and time. Expected duration for each webinar or workshop is 30 minutes.

Below is a list of offered workshops/webinars and a small description for each:

  • Notifications: Learn how to set up your account to receive instant notifications via email or on your mobile phone.
  • Quizzes: Use the Quizzes tool to take a quiz, review your quiz results, and see class statistics for a quiz.
  • D2L Email: The D2L Email tool allows you to send and receive emails from within Learning Environment.
  • Discussions: The Discussions tool is a collaboration area to post, read and reply to posts on different topics, share thoughts about course materials, ask questions, share files, or work with your peers on assignments and homework.
  • DropBox: The Dropbox tool enables you to submit assignments in Desire2Learn, eliminating the need to mail, fax, or email your work to instructors.

Schedule:

  • There are currently no workshops or webinars available for students.

Upcoming Workshops and Webinars (Faculty)

The workshops are hands-on sessions and will be offered in the eLearning Department (Room M1710).

You can enjoy the webinars (online presentations) from the comfort of your home. If you are attending a webinar, click on the "Join Meeting" link on the scheduled date and time (preferably 15 minutes before start) of the meeting.

Below is a list of some of the offered workshops/webinars and a small description for each:

  • Accessible Word: Learn how to use accessibility guidelines to create Word documents.
  • Accessible D2L: Learn how to use accessibility guidelines to create D2L (D2L) documents.
  • Accessible PPT (PowerPoint): Learn how to use accessibility guidelines to create PowerPoint documents.
  • Awards: Learn how to use the Awards tool. Awards which are in the form of Badges and Certificates, are used to reward student behaviors, create strong goal achievement, and document off-transcript student learning.
  • Creating Assignments: Learn how to create D2L assignments using the Dropbox tool.
  • Creating Quizzes: Learn how to create online quizzes in D2L.
  • D2L Course Builder: Learn how to use Course Builder to build and manage your D2L course(s).
  • Gradebook Setup: Learn how to set up your gradebook in D2L (points and weighted), and create running total and bonus grade items.
  • Introducing Acrobat: Learn the basics of using Adobe Acrobat DC for creating/editing PDFs.
  • Photoshop 1: Join us to explore Layers and Blending Modes in Photoshop.
  • Photoshop 2: Masking is a powerful tool in Photoshop. Learn how use masking with typography and photos.
  • Photoshop 3 (Video): Did you know you can create short videos with Photoshop? Come to this workshop to learn how to be a video producer.
  • Podcasting using the SMART Board: Learn how to use the SMART Board to create demonstration videos for difficult concepts/topics.
  • Beautiful Accessible Tables: Learn how to create usable tables using accessibility guidelines.
  • ePortfolio: Get an overview of the newly added ePortfolio tool in D2L.
  • Yuja: Learn about ACC’s new Enterprise Video Platform (this is an overview).

Schedule:

 

  • Wednesday, January 30 - 11:00 a.m.: ePortfolio – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, January 31 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, February 6 - 11:00 a.m.: YuJa – WEBINAR
  • Thursday, February 7 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility - WEBINAR
  • Wednesday, February 13 - 11:00 a.m.: Awards - WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, February 14 - 10:00 a.m.: Accessibility- WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, February 21 - 10:00 a.m.: Accessibility - WEBINAR
  • Friday, February 22 - 11:00 a.m.: Photoshop 1 – WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, February 27 - 11:00 a.m.: ePortfolio – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, February 28 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, March 7 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Friday, March 8 - 11:00 a.m.: Photoshop 2 – WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, March 13 - 11:00 a.m.: YuJa – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, March 14 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, March 27 - 11:00 a.m.: ePortfolio - WEBINAR
  • Thursday, March 28 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility - WEBINAR
  • Wednesday, April 3 - 11:00 a.m.: Awards - WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, April 4 – 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, April 10 - 11:00 a.m.: YuJa – WEBINAR
  • Thursday, April 11 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility - WEBINAR
  • Wednesday, April 17 - 11:00 a.m.: Awards – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, April 18 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, April 25 - 10:00 a.m.: Accessibility – WEBINAR
  • Friday, April 26 - 11:00 a.m.: Photoshop 3 - WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, May 1 - 11:00 a.m.: YuJa – WORKSHOP
  • Thursday, May 2 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WORKSHOP
  • Wednesday, May 8 - 11:00 a.m.: ePortfolio – WEBINAR
  • Thursday, May 9 - 6:00 p.m.: Accessibility – WEBINAR