2014 Writers Studio Literary Contest

General Literary Contest Submission Guidelines

2014 Winners Have Been Announced. Visit the 2014 winners page for details!

Our Spring 2014 contest opens for submission on December 1, 2013.  Submissions closed March 14, 2014.

  • General Contest open to all Colorado residents, including ACC students and employees
  • Fiction and Nonfiction--original, unpublished manuscripts should not exceed 20 pages typed, 12 point font, double-spaced. One manuscript per entry fee.
  • Poetry: submit up to three original, unpublished poems per entry fee. All entries must be original and unpublished.
  • Include titles on the manuscript but your name must not appear on any page of the manuscript.
  • All submissions will be done electronically through the Writers Studio submission page at Submittable.
  • A $12 entry fee is required for each submission. $8 for registered ACC students. Payment will be made electronically through Submittable and reflects a small fee for the credit card transaction.

First place winners in each category receive $250, invitation to read their winning piece at the Writers Studio Literary Festival, publication in Progenitor Art and Literary Journal, and automatic nomination for a Pushcart Prize. 2nd place in each category attends the Writers Studio Literary Festival as our guest.

To Submit

  • Submissions must be made electronically through Submittable. ACC students and community members will submit their work through separate links on the ACC Writers Studio submission page.
  • For electronic formatting requirements and information on how to submit, go to the  Submit to ACC Writers Studio page. Scroll down until you find the submission links for Writers Studio Literary Contests in poetry, fiction, nonfiction and student submissions. 
  • Please fill out the cover letter for your submission including Colorado Residency status and ACC student status if you are a student. Give your full name, email address, and titles of your entries.
  • Submissions emailed directly to Writers Studio will not be accepted.  Nor will snail mail submissions. 

**Note that this is a blind competition: entries submitted with names on them will not be considered.

  • You will be contacted by email with contest results.

Contest Judges 2014

Contest Judges for 2014 are AWP Award Winner in Creative Nonfiction Jill Christman and, in Poetry, former Colorado Review editor, prize-winning poet and screenwriter Bill Temblay. Seth Brady Tucker will be fiction judge. Our contest judges serve as workshop leaders for our Literary Festival in April. This year's literary festival is Saturday, April 19, 2014.

Jill ChristmanJill Christman, author of Darkroom, winner of the Association of Writers and Writing Programs Award for Creative Nonfiction, is a memoirist and essayist nominated for numerous Pushcart Prizes and published in literary journals such as River Teeth, Brevity, and Fourth GenreShe is an Associate Professor of English in Ball State University's Creative Writing Program and teaches creative nonfiction in Ashland University’s low-residency MFA program (where she is also a regular presenter at the River Teeth Nonfiction Conference). In 2013, Jill was elected to the Board of Directors of The Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP) and is currently serving as the Midwest Representative.






Bill TremblayBill Tremblay is an award-winning poet as well as a novelist, teacher, editor, and reviewer whose work has appeared in seven full-length volumes of poetry. In 1994, he published his first novel, The June Rise, which was widely and favorably reviewed, especially on NPR's "All Things Considered." In 2004, his book, Shooting Script: Door of Fire received both the ForeWard Magazine "Silver Award" and the Colorado Book Award from the Colorado Center for the Book. He has received awards and fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts, the National Endowment for the Humanities as well as The Pushcart Prize Anthology and the Corporation at Yaddo. Mr. Tremblay edited Colorado Review for 15 years, served as a member of the Program Directors Council of the Associated Writing Programs [AWP], and is the recipient of the John F. Stern Distinguished Professor award for his thirty years teaching in and directing the MFA in Creative Writing Program at Colorado State University.







seth brady tuckerSeth Brady Tucker is originally from Wyoming, and served as an Army 82nd Airborne paratrooper in Iraq. His first book, “Mormon Boy,” won the 2011 Elixir Press Editor’s Poetry Prize, and was a finalist for the 2013 Colorado Book Award. His fiction collection, "Outfit Means Something Different Here," was recently a finalist for the Flannery O'Connor award from UGA press, and his novel, which takes place between Wyoming and Iraq, is represented by Alex Glass at Trident Media Group in New York. His fiction has won numerous awards including the Shenandoah Bevel Summers Fiction Prize and the Literal Latte Flash Fiction Award, and is forthcoming or has appeared in the Iowa Review, Chattahoochee Review, Verse Daily, Poetry Northwest, Connecticut Review, Chautauqua, River Styx, Asheville Poetry Review, storySouth, Crab Orchard Review, among many others. Seth has degrees from San Francisco State, Northern Arizona, and Florida State Universities (PhD), and he teaches War Literature and fiction workshops at the University of Colorado at Boulder.






For questions, email Writers Studio or
or call Kathryn Winograd 303.797.5815

student in classroom asking question